

## Board of Trustees Minutes of Meeting January 15, 2024

A public meeting of the Bear Creek Community Charter School Board of Trustees was held on Monday, January 15, 2024 in the Community Room of Bear Creek Community Charter School, 30 Charter School Way, Bear Creek Township.

Board members Wendy Lutchko, Brandy Lewis, Nicky Pachucki, Peter Austin, LynnMarie Shedlock, and Stacey Scullion participated. Board members Dave Blazejewski and Kim Popple were absent. Also participating were school administrators Kim Stevens, Bridget Deeble, Tammy Miller, Kristen Young, and Jim Smith.

Wendy Lutchko called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m. Wendy Lutchko led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance. Jim Smith conducted a roll call of the Board. Wendy Lutchko opened the meeting to public comment relating to agenda items. There was no public comment.

Peter Austin made a motion to approve the minutes of the December 7, 2023 Board of Trustees meeting, which was seconded by Nicky Pachucki and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Tammy Miller presented the preliminary financial statements and expenditures for the period ending November 30, 2023. LynnMarie Shedlock made a motion to approve the financial statements and expenditures as presented, which was seconded by Peter Austin. All Board members present voted in favor of the motion with the exception of Stacey Scullion, who abstained from voting on expenses associated with the employment of Jennifer Smith and Wendy Lutchko, who abstained from voting on expenses associated with the employment of Hope Wanek. There were no dissenting votes. The motion was approved by majority roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Brandy Lewis made a motion to approve the mileage reimbursement rate for school-related travel at \$.67 effective January 1, 2024, which was seconded by Wendy Lutchko and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Wendy Lutchko made a motion to add Makayla Kresefski to the Daily Substitute List effective September 18, 2023 at a per diem rate of \$200.00, which was seconded by Nicky Pachucki and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Brandy Lewis made a motion to approve a Tuition Assistance Request from William Barnes for the course Enlightenment and Revolution at Slippery Rock University for the Spring 2024 semester at a cost not to exceed \$1,865.00. The motion was seconded by Peter Austin and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

LynnMarie Shedlock made a motion to ratify the approval of the hiring of Makayla Kresefski as a Long-Term Substitute effective January 8, 2024 and extending through March 8, 2024 at a rate of \$225.00 per day. The motion was seconded by Brandy Lewis and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Wendy Lutchko made a motion to approve the hiring of Mark Swida as Food Service Roundsman effective January 16, 2024 at an hourly rate of \$19.50. This is a full-time, twelve-month position. The motion was seconded by Brandy Lewis and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Nicky Pachucki made a motion to donate 150 surplus student lockers to the Hanover Area School District, which was seconded by LynnMarie Shedlock and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Jim Smith, Kim Stevens, Bridget Deeble, Kristen Young, and Tammy Miller provided the Board with various operational updates.

Wendy Lutchko opened the meeting to general public comment. There was no public comment.

Peter Austin made a motion to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded by Stacy Scullion and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

The meeting adjourned at 7:06 p.m.

Juni Smith

Respectfully,

Jim Smith

**Board Secretary** 

The next meeting of the Bear Creek Community Charter School Board of Trustees is **Thursday, February 1, 2024.** The meeting will be held in the Community Room at Bear Creek Community Charter School, 30 Charter School Way, Bear Creek Township, PA 18702. The meeting is open to the public.