

Board of Trustees Minutes of Meeting August 19, 2024

A public meeting of the Bear Creek Community Charter School Board of Trustees was held on Monday, August 19, 2024 in the Community Room of Bear Creek Community Charter School, 30 Charter School Way, Bear Creek Township.

Board members Dave Blazejewski, Brandy Lewis, Nicky Pachucki, LynnMarie Shedlock, Peter Austin, Wendy Lutchko and Stacey Scullion participated. Board member Kim Popple was absent. Also participating were school administrators Kim Stevens, Kristen Young, Bridge Deeble, Tammy Miller and Jim Smith.

Dave Blazejewski called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. Brandy Lewis led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance. Kristen Young conducted a roll call of the Board. Dave Blazejewski opened the meeting to public comment relating to agenda items. There was no public comment.

Brandy Lewis made a motion to approve the meeting minutes of August 1, 2024, which was seconded by LynnMarie Shedlock and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Peter Austin made a motion to approve PDE-418 Board Certification of Annual Lease Costs, which was seconded by Brandy Lewis and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board member present.

LynnMarie Shedlock made a motion to approve the following substitute nurses for the 2024-2025 school year: Kathy Ercolani, Denise Simonik, Jennifer Kolessar, Emily Blazejewski, and Cheryl Bonomo. The motion was seconded by Nicky Pachucki. Board members Brandy Lewis, Nicky Pachucki, LynnMarie Shedlock, Peter Austin, Wendy Lutchko and Stacey Scullion. Board member Dave Blazejewski abstained from the vote. There were no dissenting votes. The motion was approved by majority roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Brandy Lewis made a motion to approve the following substitute teachers for the 2024-2025 school year: Michelle Feil, Erica Kogoy, Regina Williams, Deborah Yeager, and David Yoder. The motion was seconded by Wendy Lutchko and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Peter Austin made a motion to accept the resignation of Amanda Selsavage as full-time Learning Support Techer effective August 12, 2024, which was seconded by Wendy Lutchko and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Nicky Pachucki made a motion to accept the resignation of Jerry Weihbrecht as Food Service Director, effective August 14, 2024, which was seconded by Wendy Lutchko and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Wendy Lutchko made a motion to approve the hiring of Eric Myers as Food Service Director, effective August 16, 2024. This is a full-time, twelve-month exempt level position at an annual salary of \$56,000.00 plus benefits. The motion was seconded by Nicky Pachucki and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Peter Austin made a motion to approve the hiring of Morgan Coss Y Leon to the position of Food Service Assistant, effective August 19, 2024, at an hourly rate of \$16.00. This is a part-time, ten-month position for up to 29 hours per week while school is in session. The motion was seconded by LynnMarie Shedlock and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Nicky Pachucki made a motion to approve the hiring of Marza Cyphert as Middle School English Language Arts Teacher, effective August 19, 2024. This is a full-time, ten-month exempt level position for 195 days per year at an annual salary of \$40,000.00 plus benefits. The motion was seconded by Brandy Lewis and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Nicky Pachucki made a motion to approve the distribution of the 2024 longevity bonus distribution in the aggregate amount of \$35,000.00 with the August 15, 2024 payroll, which was seconded by Peter Austin and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Brandy Lewis made a motion to approve the School's Bullying Policy, which was seconded by LynnMarie Shedlock and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Nicky Pachucki made a motion to approve a Tuition Assistance Request from Jordan Harrison for the course Introduction to Educational Research at Wilkes University for the Fall 2024 semester at a cost not to exceed \$1,788.00. The motion was seconded by Wendy Lutchko and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Brandy Lewis made a motion to approve a Tuition Assistance Request from Stephanie Knorr for the course Achieving Excellence through Luzerne Intermediate Unit 18 for the Fall 2024 semester at a cost not to exceed \$315.00. The motion was seconded by LynnMarie Shedlock and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Wendy Lutchko made a motion to approve a Tuition Assistance Request from Kevin Harcarik for the Health/Physical Education Practicum through Wilson College for the Fall 2024 semester at a cost not to exceed \$5,895.00. The motion was seconded by Brandy Lewis and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

LynnMarie Shedlock made a motion to approve a Tuition Assistance Request from William Barnes for the course Renaissance and Reformation from Slippery Rock University for the Fall 2024 semester at a cost not to exceed \$1,865.00. The motion was seconded by Brandy Lewis and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Wendy Lutchko made a motion to approve a Conference Request from Kim Stevens to participate in the Navigating the Roadblocks to Education Virtual Conference through the National Association of Public Services Administrators from October 20th through October 23rd at a cost not to exceed \$149.00. The motion was seconded by Brandy Lewis and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

LynnMarie Shedlock made a motion to approve an agreement with Elite Educational and Therapeutic Support Services for special education services at a cost not to exceed \$5,500.00, which was seconded by Peter Austin and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

Kristen Young, Kim Stevens, Bridget Deeble and Tammy Miller and Jim Smith provided the Board with various operational updates.

Dave Blazejewski opened the meeting to general public comment. There was no public comment.

Peter Austin made a motion to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded by Nicky Pachucki and approved by unanimous roll-call vote of the Board members present.

The meeting adjourned at 7:43 p.m.

Jemin Smith

Respectfully,

Jim Smith

Board Secretary

The next meeting of the Bear Creek Community Charter School Board of Trustees is **Thursday, September 5**, **2024.** The meeting will be held in the Community Room at Bear Creek Community Charter School, 30 Charter School Way, Bear Creek Township, PA 18702. The meeting is open to the public.